List of Mosques in various states which were built after demolishing Hindu temples

by ultadin | 07/11/2015 1:55 pm

We give below, state-wise and district-wise, the particulars of Muslim monuments which stand on the sites and/or have been built with the materials of Hindu temples, and which we wish to recall as witnesses to the role of Islam as a religion and the character of Muslim rule in medieval India. The list is the result of a preliminary survey. Many more Muslim monuments await examination. Local traditions which have so far been ignored or neglected have to be tapped on a large scale.

We have tried our best to be exact in respect of locations, names and dates of the monuments mentioned. Even so, some mistakes and confusions may have remained. It is not un-often that different sources provide different dates and names for the same monument. Many Muslim saints are known by several names, which create confusion in identifying their mazãrs or dargãhs. Some districts have been renamed or newly, created and a place which was earlier under one district may have been included in another. We shall be grateful to readers who point out these mistakes so that they can be corrected in our major study. This is only a brief summary. Click on either the state name or on the Description field to get more details.



Andhra Pradesh[1]
List for Andhra Pradesh[2]
List for Assam[4]
List for Bengal[6]
List for Bihar[8]
List for Delhi[10]
List for Diu[12]
List for Gujarat[14]
List for Haryana[16]
Himachal Pradesh[17]
List for Himachal Pradesh[18]
List for Karnataka[20]
List for Kashmir[22]
List for Kerala[24]
List for Lakshadweep[26]
Madhya Pradesh[27]
List for Madhya Pradesh[28]
List for Maharashtra[30]
List for Odisha[32]
List for Punjab[34]
List for Rajasthan[36]
Tamil Nadu[37]
List for Tamil Nadu[38]
Uttar Pradesh[39]
List for Uttar Pradesh[40]

by Sita Ram Goel


Facebook Comments
  1. Andhra Pradesh:
  2. List for Andhra Pradesh:
  3. Assam:
  4. List for Assam:
  5. Bengal:
  6. List for Bengal:
  7. Bihar:
  8. List for Bihar:
  9. Delhi:
  10. List for Delhi:
  11. Diu:
  12. List for Diu:
  13. Gujarat:
  14. List for Gujarat:
  15. Haryana:
  16. List for Haryana:
  17. Himachal Pradesh:
  18. List for Himachal Pradesh:
  19. Karnataka:
  20. List for Karnataka:
  21. Kashmir:
  22. List for Kashmir:
  23. Kerala:
  24. List for Kerala:
  25. Lakshadweep:
  26. List for Lakshadweep:
  27. Madhya Pradesh:
  28. List for Madhya Pradesh:
  29. Maharashtra:
  30. List for Maharashtra:
  31. Odisha:
  32. List for Odisha:
  33. Punjab:
  34. List for Punjab:
  35. Rajasthan:
  36. List for Rajasthan:
  37. Tamil Nadu:
  38. List for Tamil Nadu:
  39. Uttar Pradesh:
  40. List for Uttar Pradesh:

Source URL: