LIVE: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes

LIVE: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes
Source news.yahoo

LIVE: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes

Backed by the BJP, Nitish Kumar returned as the Bihar chief minister for the sixth time barely 16 hours after his dramatic resignation that dented Opposition’s unity which could have a bearing on the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi was also sworn in, and would be the deputy chief minister.

Kumar, 66, will seek a trust vote during a one-day special session of the Bihar Assembly convened at 11 am today after Bihar Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi asked him to prove his majority on the floor of the House on July 28.


  • Nitish Kumar wins Bihar floor test, 131 votes in favour, 108 against.
  • Secularism should not be used to justify corruption. Won’t support people who make money through wrong ways: Nitish Kumar
  • Would like to thank Congress and RJD, if Tejashwi had resigned I would not have been here: Sushil Modi
  • Floor test begins in Bihar Assembly.
  • Yogi Aditynath and some BJP leaders have serious cases registered against them, Nitish ji will you ask all of them to resign: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Nitish Kumar never spoke to me about my resignation,I too was thinking that he does not want me to resign: Tejashwi Yada
  • We did not put any pressure on the Chief Minister ever: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Everything was completely planned, the way Nitish Kumar gave resignation is saddening: Tejashwi Yadav
  • People of Bihar have suffered immensely: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Ruckus inside Assembly.
  • Sushil Modi should be ashamed of what he has done: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Nitish Kumar got seven seats in 1995 when he fought alone and in 2014, he was reduced to two seats: Tejashwi Yadav
  • RJD and Congress tried to save the political image of Nitish Kumar: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Nitish Kumar has betrayed the 2015 mandate. Mandate was for 5 years and it was against the BJP: Tejashwi Yadav
  • All this drama to protect image of one person: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Stormy scenes being witnessed both inside and outside the Bihar Assembly.
  • Voting to happen through voice vote.
  • This is death of democracy. All that is happening is against the mandate: Tejashwi Yadav
  • Nitish Kumar presents trust vote.
  • Patna High Court said, on petition challenging formation of a new government by Nitish Kumar’s JDU with BJP, hearing not possible before July 31st, Monday.
  • Lalu’s RJD to seek ballot vote.
  • Tejashwi Yadav reaches Bihar Assembly, will speak before Nitish Kumar.
  • Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi reaches Bihar Assembly.
  • Nitish Kumar reaches Assembly.
  • RJD MLAs protest outside Bihar Assembly. Shouting slogans and carrying placards, the Rashtriya Janata Dal legislators stood at the main entrance of the assembly, protesting against Nitish Kumar. 
  • JD-U’s Ajay Alok said that no leader unhappy. Ali Anwar issued a statement but he has also said that this is not a revolt and that he will speak in party forum.
  • RJD may protest at Vidhan Sabha today. 
  • According to sources, around 18 Congress MLAs could switch to NDA in coming days.
  • JDU is conffident that there will be massive cross-voting from opposition lawmakers in favour of Nitish Kumar.
  • Congress Bihar in-charge CP Joshi chaired a meeting of Congress MLAs in Patna.
  • Security tightened outside Bihar assembly as CM Nitish Kumar will face floor test shortly.

Patna: Security tightened outside #Bihar assembly. CM #NitishKumar to face floor test today. pic.twitter.com/JECnSBVFed

ANI (@ANI_news) 28 July 2017Party wise break up in Bihar: Total 243 seats/ magic number- 122


RJD: 80

JDU: 71

NDA: 58 (BJP- 53, LJP-2, RLSP- 2, HAM- 1)

Congress– 27

CPI: 3

IND: 4

JD-U’s return to the NDA fold after four years by walking out of the Grand Alliance less than two years after being in power did not go down well with a section of the party with two MPs including MP Veerendra Kumar openly criticising Kumar’s decision.

The halfway mark lies at 122 and the BJP-JD-U combine amounts to 124. But the slender margin, Nitish’s party believes, will be turned into a massive support when MLAs from other parties break rank and back the new regime with the same chief minister “Mr Clean” at the helm.

Facebook Comments

Related Articles

No comments

Write a comment
No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.
Required fields are marked*