LIVE: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes

by ultadin | 28/07/2017 7:47 pm


LIVE: Nitish Kumar wins Bihar Assembly floor test with 131 votes

Backed by the BJP, Nitish Kumar returned as the Bihar chief minister for the sixth time barely 16 hours after his dramatic resignation that dented Opposition’s unity which could have a bearing on the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi was also sworn in, and would be the deputy chief minister.

Kumar, 66, will seek a trust vote during a one-day special session of the Bihar Assembly convened at 11 am today after Bihar Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi asked him to prove his majority on the floor of the House on July 28.


Patna: Security tightened outside #Bihar[2] assembly. CM #NitishKumar[3] to face floor test today.[4]

ANI (@ANI_news) 28 July 2017[5]Party wise break up in Bihar: Total 243 seats/ magic number- 122


RJD: 80

JDU: 71

NDA: 58 (BJP- 53, LJP-2, RLSP- 2, HAM- 1)

Congress– 27

CPI: 3

IND: 4

JD-U’s return to the NDA fold after four years by walking out of the Grand Alliance less than two years after being in power did not go down well with a section of the party with two MPs including MP Veerendra Kumar openly criticising Kumar’s decision.

The halfway mark lies at 122 and the BJP-JD-U combine amounts to 124. But the slender margin, Nitish’s party believes, will be turned into a massive support when MLAs from other parties break rank and back the new regime with the same chief minister “Mr Clean” at the helm.

Facebook Comments
  1. Source
  2. #Bihar:
  3. #NitishKumar:
  5. 28 July 2017:

Source URL: